Mark S. Weiner

“A full-throated defense of the state”: Publishers Weekly on The Rule of the Clan

In Rule of the Clan on January 24, 2013 at 11:05 am

Publishers Weekly has released this review of my forthcoming book The Rule of the Clan: What an Ancient Form of Social Organization Reveals about the Future of Individual Freedom. The review calls the book “a full-throated defense of the modern centralized state” (I would have left off the adjective “centralized,” but in substance that’s absolutely right). The review also describes the book as a “sociological history and political treatise” and praises it for providing “a nuanced view of clan-based societies” through “an entertaining mix of anecdote and ethnography.”

I’m expecting to post my next video later today. In the meantime, I met yesterday with my agent to talk about my next book. Stay tuned!

—-

Update (1/24): For a review of The Rule of the Clan by Kirkus Reviews, see here. For other endorsements and purchasing information, see here.

Update (1/25): My new video, about German and EU legal architecture, is available here.

Leave a Reply

